32 C
Kota Kinabalu
Jumaat, Februari 23, 2024

Sabah lifting inter-district travel ban today

KOTA KINABALU: The state government is not planning to extend the inter-district travel ban beyond today, as announced earlier.

The minister in charge of Covid-19 matters in Sabah, Datuk Seri Masidi Manjun, said this was due to the controlled number of cases lately, with a total of 60 new cases yesterday.

No new deaths or clusters were recorded.
This means that Sabah’s travel restrictions will be loosened from today, with the system where districts are grouped into six zones reimplemented:

▪︎Zone 1 – Kota Kinabalu, Kota Belud, Ranau, Tuaran, Penampang, Putatan and Papar

▪︎Zone 2 – Beaufort, Kuala Penyu and Sipitang

▪︎ Zone 3 – Kudat, Kota Marudu and Pitas

▪︎Zone 4 – Sandakan, Beluran, Kinabatangan and Tongod

▪︎Zone 5 – Tawau, Semporna, Lahad Datu, Kunak and Kalabakan

▪︎Zone 6 – Keningau, Tambunan and Tenom

Those living in areas within the zones can travel within the districts inside.

Among the standard operating procedure that the people in Sabah need to be aware of following the Prime Minister’s announcement of MCO 3.0 until June 7 is the attendance allowed in non-Muslim houses of worship.

Only one-third of the capacity with physical distancing is permitted.
Social gatherings such as weddings, parties, engagements, seminars and meetings are still prohibited, though special permits can be applied from the state disaster management committee for consideration.

Schools as well as higher learning and private learning institutions are not allowed to operate, with classes encouraged to be held online.
The rest of the SOP can be viewed at the Sabah National Security Council or Information Department page on Facebook, among other platforms. TheStar